District Attorney Accountability

District attorneys prosecute state crimes, decide which charges are filed, and have the power to dismiss charges or divert people to treatment or other programs. They are highly influential in the state Legislature and in local governments, and they frequently impact criminal justice policy and budget decisions.

In Colorado, DAs are elected in each of the state’s 22 judicial districts, all of which held elections in 2020. These races typically receive much less attention than others, so many voters know very little about DA candidates, their positions, and what they plan to do if they are elected.

CCJRC4Action works to educate voters about DA candidates so they can be held accountable to the communities they are entrusted to serve. We host candidate forums, survey candidates on their positions, and endorse those who are most closely aligned with our vision. We also employ grassroots and online campaigns to make our endorsements known.

Know Your DA

Know Your DA [PDF]

Find your judicial district: The Colorado Judicial Branch provides a list of the state’s 22 judicial districts and the counties covered by each. Locate your county in the list, or just enter your city in the “Find your district and county” feature at the top of the page.

Find the DA candidates: The Colorado Secretary of State provides a list of all 2020 general election candidates, which includes all the DA candidates. It also lists each candidate’s political party, whether they are the incumbent, and in some cases their campaign website.

2020 DA Race Endorsements! CCJRC4Action endorsed Amy Padden JD 18 and Alexis King JD 1 in hotly contested district attorney races. Learn more!

2020 District Attorney Candidate Voter Guides for the General Election:

1st Judicial District (Jefferson and Gilpin Counties)
Download the 1st Judicial District Voter Guide [PDF]

8th Judicial District (Larimer and Jackson Counties)
Download the 8th Judicial District Voter Guide [PDF]

17th Judicial District (Adams and Broomfield Counties)
Download the 17th Judicial District Voter Guide [PDF]

18th Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln Counties)
Download the 18th Judicial District Voter Guide [PDF]